NFM National Arts ProjectSummit 2012Resources

New Faculty Majority Foundation Board and Staff

Judy Olson, Board Chair
Lecturer, English, California State University Los Angeles; Chair, Contingent Faculty Caucus, National Education Association (NEA); Lecturer Representative, California Faculty Association (CFA) Los Angeles; Co-Chair, CFA Statewide Women's Caucus; California Teachers Association State Council Delegate; NEA Representative Assembly; Delegate; Member, International Advisory Committee, Coalition on Contingent Academic Labor

Anne Wiegard, Past Board Chair
Lecturer in English, SUNY Cortland, NY; Member, Executive Board, United University Professions (UUP); Co-Chair, UUP Statewide Human and Civil Rights Committee; Executive Board Liaison to Statewide Contingent Employment Committee; Former Co-chair, UUP Task Force on Contingent Employees; New York State United Teachers (NYSUT) Delegate; American Federation of Teachers (AFT) Delegate

Lee Kottner, Board Secretary
Former Adjunct Professor of English, New York City College of Technology/CUNY; York College (CUNY); New Jersey City University; Freelance Writer and Editor

Anne McLeer, Board Treasurer
Director of Research and Strategic Planning, SEIU Local 500/Coalition on Academic Labor, Washington, DC

Joe Berry, Board Member
Contingent Faculty Activist, Labor Historian, and Author, Reclaiming the Ivory Tower: Organizing Adjuncts to Change Higher Education (2005); Member, AAUP Committee on Contingent Faculty; Member, International Advisory Committee, Coalition on Contingent Academic Labor

Sue Doe, Board Member
Associate Professor of English, Colorado State University; Co-Director, Center for the Study of Academic Labor (CSAL) at Colorado State University; Former Chair, Executive Committee of the Discussion Group on Part-time Faculty, MLA; Co-Director, Center for the Study of Academic Labor, Colorado State University

Nate Dumas, Board Member
Research Associate, Department of Anthropology, University of California Santa Cruz; Former Resident Anthropologist, Idea Couture, Inc.

Pablo Eisenberg, Board Member
Senior Fellow, Public Policy Institute, Georgetown University, Washington, D.C.; Former Executive Director, The Center for Community Change; Co-Founder, The Center for Responsive Philanthropy

April Freely, Board Member
Former Associate Lecturer, English, University of Akron, Akron, Ohio, and Lakeland Community College, Kirtland, Ohio; Co-Chair, Organizing Committee, Ohio Part-Time Faculty Association; Former Community Organizer, Community Development Corporation, Cleveland

Claire Goldstene, Board Member
Author, The Struggle for America's Promise: Equal Opportunity at the Dawn of Corporate Capital (2014); Former Professorial Lecturer in US History, American University

Seth Kahn, Board Member
Associate Professor of English West Chester University; Chair, Task Force on Contingent Labor in the Conference on College Composition and Communication

Gary Rhoades, Board Member
Professor and Director, Center for the Study of Higher Education, University of Arizona; Former General Secretary, American Association of University Professors; Former President, Association for the Study of Higher Education

Robin Sowards, Board Member
Adjunct Professor, English, Duquesne University; Organizer, United Faculty Association of the United Steelworkers

Heather Wathington, Board Member
Assistant Professor, Curry School of Education, University of Virginia
Chief Executive Officer, See Forever Foundation/Maya Angelou Schools

Maria Maisto, President/Executive Director
Adjunct in English, Cuyahoga Community College

Marisa Allison, Research Fellow; PhD Candidate, George Mason University